Meringues

My childhood meringue recipe came from my childhood recipe book, I think called “my first recipe book”. It was a great recipe book (I want it for my kids, if I can find it) and it had a very simple meringue recipe. I liked the meringues that recipe made.

But I don’t have that recipe book right now, which means I need to look up a recipe online, which means I’m stuck dealing with recipes that involve multiple kinds of sugar (none of which I have) and require cream of tartar (I don’t even know what that is, other than something infesting all the meringue recipes online

I did, finally, manage to track down a recipe that doesn’t call for either of those things. It does call for vinegar, but I feel sage ignoring that.

The recipe is here:

http://www.bakersroyale.com/easy-meringue-recipe/

The recipe produces really gorgeous purple streaked meringues with gold sparkles. I do not need purple streaks or gold sparkles, either.

So this is the recipe I followed:

6 oz eggs whites (about 6 large eggs)
1 1/2cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoon vanilla

Heat oven to 200 degrees F.
Line bake sheet.

1. Place egg whites in a stand mixer bowl fitted with a whisk and whip until stiff peaks hold.
2. Gradually add in sugar and then vanilla and vinegar. Increase speed and whip until mixture is free of sugar grit when rubbed between two fingers and the meringue holds stiff and glossy peaks.
3. Drop meringues onto sheets
4. Bake meringues for about 90-120 minutes or until meringue easily peels away from parchment paper. 

image

Leave a comment