Shepherd’s pie

I was craving shepherd’s pie.

I’ve never made it before, and I’ve only ever eaten it twice, but I remember how much I loved it.

I looked up several recipes online to get the general idea of what to do.

I don’t provide amounts because I eyeballed everything here.

Ingredients:

Mashed potatoes:
Potatoes,
Garlic, several cloves (cooked with potatoes)
Margarine
Salt

Meat
Ground meat
Garlic, diced
Onion, diced
Shredded carrots

My throw-stuff-together replacement for Worcestershire sauce:
Soy sauce
Lemon juice
Curry powder
Sweet paprika
Black pepper
Brown sugar
A dash of BBQ sauce

Make mashed potatoes. Boil with whole cloves of garlic and mash together with the garlic, mash in the margarine as well.

Saute the onions and the garlic till golden.

Mix the meat with the spices.

Mix onions/garlic with meat and carrots, fry till meat is brown.

The recipes all call for a stage of boiling in broth whose purpose I’m unclear on because the meat is already cooked. I skipped this stage for lack of broth.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

Pour meat into dish.
Cover meat with mashed potatoes.
You want brownable peaks on the potatoes, so scallop them around with a fork.

Bake for 20-30 minutes.

image

Leave a Reply

